Why I once cringed at the thought of dosa and now love it (and the recipe that changed everything)

Swaadbynitin- Chef Nitin Kamath

Dear Food Enthusiasts, 

How do you like your dosa?

To be honest with, you, I HATED dosa when I was young.

To give you a context, I’m of South Indian origin, born in Bangalore. My parents’ jobs were in North India, so that’s where I grew up, relishing the cuisine, including roti’s and stuffed parathas.

My mom made dosa everyday, breakfast & lunch. To her it was routine. Sustenance. I was craving her attention and love more. That, unfortunately, never came. I would negotiate an exchange with an unsuspecting student at school. I would either trade off her dosa for a roti or skip lunch altogether.

I HATED DOSA.


In my late teens, I moved from house to hostel in Murdeshwar, a beautiful coastal town in Karnataka (South of India), my roommates came knocking at my door.

“Hey! Let’s have dosas!” they yelled in unison.

I tried to beg off. “I have no money”

“Come on! We’ll pay for you!”

So we skittered off, five of us, for dinner at a place called Tiffin Corner. The smell of fried onion smacked me in the face as we entered the small beach side shack. There, by the lantern and Arabian Sea, I was introduced to “Rava Dosa.”

It’s a crepe known for its crispy texture and unique flavor. It's made from a batter that differs significantly from the traditional dosa batter, usually made from rice and split black lentils.

Ingredients for the Rava Dosa Batter:

  1. Rava (Semolina): The main ingredient, providing the dosa with its distinctive texture and taste.

  2. Rice Flour: Adds crispiness to the dosa.

  3. All-Purpose Flour (Maida): Sometimes added to the batter to help bind the ingredients together.

  4. Water: Used to mix the ingredients into a thin batter. The batter's consistency is more watery compared to traditional dosa batter, which is what allows the rava dosa to have its characteristic lacy appearance.

  5. Curd (Yogurt): Added to give the batter a slight tanginess and to help in fermentation, although it's not necessary for the batter to ferment.

Flavorings and Add-Ins:

  1. Cumin Seeds: For a bit of crunch and flavor.

  2. Green Chilies: Finely chopped for a spicy kick.

  3. Onion: Finely chopped or thinly sliced onions are often mixed into the batter, providing sweetness and crunch.

  4. Coriander Leaves: Chopped, for freshness and flavor.

  5. Curry Leaves: Chopped or whole, for a distinctive South Indian aroma and taste.

  6. Black Pepper: Whole or crushed, adding a spicy warmth.

  7. Ginger: Finely chopped or grated for a sharp, pungent flavor.

  8. Salt: For seasoning.

Cooking:

  • The rava dosa batter, you have to delicately splash it onto a hot tawa (griddle) till you have a thin, lacy crepe. Since the batter is thin, it spreads easily and fills out into a net-like pattern.

  • The dosa is typically cooked until crisp and golden brown, often with oil or ghee to enhance flavor and crispiness.

I ate SO many rava dosas that night, I thought I would burst at the seams.

That evening, at Tiffin Corner, among the smells of freshly brewed filter coffee and burning charcoal, I thought about all the different ways dosa can be made.

Every weekend my wife Vidhya makes dosa, with chutney or sambar and Ginger Masala Tea.

‘I’ve grown to LOVE Dosa.’

In light of that, I’ll be offering a twist on the traditional Masala Dosa at my inaugural Supper Club: Sampurn (registration, date and time details here)

It requires a special Appe Pan. I slow-cook the dosa batter until it’s crispy and then stuff it with mashed potatoes. I’ve blended coconut milk, green chillies, fresh coriander & salt to create a savory cream to go with it.

See this video here of me making it at home.

What I’m Eating

Dalthoi - Konkani Dal, Stir fried beans & Fresh home made Mango Pickles!

What I’m Hearing

BeerBiceps- Youtube Podcast chanel about success stories, spirituality and geopolitics.

Where I’m Traveling

Balam Pichkari, Cruise Party at NYC - The Indian festival of Holi 23rd March

What I’m Watching

Shogun - Set in Japan in 1600’s at the dawn of century-defining civil war.

Be sure to follow me on Instagram @swaadbynitin

Nitin

Reply

or to participate.