How my first supper club led me to rediscover otah, Singapore's beloved fishcake

Sweet memories of dates with my wife

When I lived in Singapore, my wife Vidhya and I loved to spend our mornings at a little cafe called “Toast Box.”

Picture a cozy, warmly lit space with wooden furnishings and a touch of nostalgic decor reminiscent of Singapore in the 1960s and 70s. The atmosphere buzzing with a gentle hum of conversation and solo visitors engrossed in books or tapping away on laptops.

The air carries the comforting aroma of freshly brewed Nanyang coffee, or Kopi as the locals call it, a signature blend of Singapore that is distinctively strong, but with a hint of bitter. You might also catch the scent of freshly toasted bread, buttery and warm, often paired with kaya, a sweet and creamy coconut jam that's a local favorite.

The clinking of ceramic cups and saucers blends with the soft sizzle of soft-boiled eggs sprinkled with soy sauce and white pepper to savory mee siam and laksa.

Visiting “Toast Box” is like stepping into a slice of Singapore's culinary heritage and some of our favorite memories as a couple were there.

There is one dish in particular that we ordered every single morning. As much as we love traveling, we often found ourselves missing the food that makes home, home. This dish was reminiscent of food from Mangalore, where I come from.

It’s a savory Southeast Asian fish cake, crafted from raw fish and basking in a paste wrapped in banana leaves called “Otah.” Grilled to perfection, I am salivating just thinking about it.

The servers moving efficiently, balancing trays of thick toasts, aromatic coffee, and local delights, their voices occasionally rising to call out orders ready for pickup. Toastbox always played old songs that still play in the music box of my memory.

I’m determined to recreate the magic of those breakfast dates with my wife Vidhya.

I’m serving a twist on “Otah” at my first supper club April 20th.

Rather than a paste made of of the Toastbox recipe (red chillies, ginger, garlic, curry powder, egg & coconut milk), my version of “Otah” will feature a paste with coriander seeds, curry leaves, ginger, a hint of tamarind, and a drizzle of coconut oil.

Are you salivating yet?

I’m so proud of this moment. Register for my first supper club concept April 20th in Manhattan here. Located disclosed upon confirmation.

What I’m Eating

Chicken Biryani - Making Biryani is like a meditation for me. I Meditate quite often :)

What I’m Hearing

Chavda is a theoretical physicist, multidisciplinary researcher, and polymath. He dives into a wide array of subjects that span across physics, philosophy, history, geopolitics, and technology.

Where I’m Traveling

Las Vegas- Looking forward for our trip West May 2024

What I’m Watching

Death in Paradise- A light hearted series, combination of murder mystery comedy

Be sure to follow me on Instagram @swaadbynitin

Nitin

Reply

or to participate.