A Taste of Penang: My Laksa Revelation, each spoonful transported me to culinary nirvana

Culinary journey that would forever tantalize my taste buds and awaken my senses

CURRY LAKSA

I had my first spoonful of Laksa in the bustling streets of Penang, Malaysia in 2011, where me & Vidhya went for a holiday. I had been living outside of India for 3 years, I was longing for a piece of home. I never expected to find it, like a warm hug, in a bustling hawker stall in Penang.

GURNEY DRIVE FOOD STREET, PENANG, MALAYSIA

If you had ever been to Penang, you know that the city offers a vibrant food scene, drawing locals and tourists alike. On Gurney Drive, stretching along the seaside, I was drawn to a stall. Spices and steam mingled together, rising from bowls of broth.

As I lifted the spoon to my lips, I was greeted by a symphony of flavors: the creamy coconut milk, tangy tamarind, the fiery chili, and fragrant herbs. I had been transported to sort of culinary nirvana, It was my first bowl of Laksa!

Here’s the version I am offering as course #4 at my Supper Club on April 20th

Curry Paste: Mangalore fish curry paste using a blend of spices such as coriander seeds, cumin seeds, fenugreek seeds, black peppercorns, and dried red chilies. Toast the whole spices and grind them into a fine paste along with garlic, ginger, shallots, and tamarind paste.

Broth: Coconut milk & fish broth to complement the flavors of the curry paste and create a creamy texture.

Noodles: Fresh hand pressed & steamed rice noodle

Sambal: Home made chilli paste with shallots, garlic and chilli flakes.

Garnish: Mint leaves, sprouts, crab meat and cavier

Vegetarian Option: Did i tell you I can also make a vegetarian version of this laksa by omitting the fish and using vegetable broth, Garnished with Heart of Palm!

HAWKER MAKING STEAMING POT OF LAKSA

Origins: While the exact origins of laksa remain shrouded in mystery, historians believe that this iconic dish has its origin in the intermingling of cultures along the ancient spice routes of Southeast Asia. Influenced by Chinese, Malay, Indian, and Peranakan culinary traditions.

Regional Variations: Laksa Across Southeast Asia

While my journey began in Penang, laksa's popularity extends far beyond Malaysia's borders, with each region putting its own unique twist on the dish

Penang Laksa or Assam Laksa: Known for its tangy, fish-based broth and generous toppings of flaked mackerel

Singaporean Laksa: Creamy and coconutty, Singaporean laksa is often served with prawns, fish cake, and hard-boiled eggs, creating a decadent delight.

Sarawak Laksa: Hailing from the Malaysian state of Sarawak, this aromatic laksa features a spicy broth made with ingredients like belacan (shrimp paste) and sambal (chili paste).

Thai Laksa: In Thailand, laksa takes on a unique Thai twist, with additions like Thai basil, lime leaves, and fish sauce adding a burst of Thai flavor to this beloved dish.

Register for my first supper club concept April 20th in Manhattan here.

What I’m Eating

Dal & Rice - Lentils cooked with tomatoes & onion, Tempered with jeera & ghee, Rice, Stirfried Okra & pickled onion

What I’m Hearing

IndianRaga - MIT-founded digital arts education startup. Their Youtube Channel showcases new age rendition of Indian Classical music

What I’m Celebrating

How I celebrated Ugadi- Ugadi marks the beginning of new year for us. On April 9th 2024 we celebrated with a feast

What I’m Watching

Fallout - An action packed post apocalyptic drama, based on a popular video game series

Be sure to follow me on Instagram @swaadbynitin

Nitin

Reply

or to participate.