Unveil the top 5 meats for slow cooking

that promise tender, flavorful meals every time

As a self taught chef, I believe in the philosophy of slow cooking.

Cooking on a low flame, is my preferred way of preparing food.

Pandi Curry, Course 4 at my Supper Club this Saturday & I am using;

Pork Shoulder: A cut that benefits greatly from slow cooking. It's ideal for making pulled pork due to its fat content and connective tissue, which render down to create moist, tender meat.

But here are 4 other meats that do really well when slow cooked:

  1. Beef Chuck: This cut comes from the shoulder area and tends to be rich in connective tissues. Slow cooking beef chuck breaks down these tissues, resulting in tender, flavorful meat that's perfect for stews, pot roasts, and shredded beef dishes.

  2. Lamb Shank: Lamb shanks are full of connective tissue and marbling, making them excellent for slow cooking. They become incredibly tender and absorb flavors well, making them a popular choice for braises and slow-cooked curries.

  3. Chicken Thighs: Unlike chicken breasts, thighs have more fat and connective tissue, which makes them well-suited for slow cooking. They don't dry out as easily and can handle longer cooking times, making them ideal for dishes like casseroles and slow-cooker chicken recipes.

  4. Brisket: Brisket is a beef cut from the breast section under the first five ribs. It's tough and fibrous, so slow cooking over a long period is the best way to prepare it, resulting in a tender and flavorful dish. It's especially popular in barbecue and Jewish cuisine.

The science behind Slow Cooking and why I love it.

Breakdown of Collagen and Connective Tissues: Slow cooking allows collagen and connective tissues in meat to break down gradually, resulting in tender, melt-in-your-mouth textures. This process, known as collagen breakdown, occurs most effectively at lower temperatures over a longer period of time.

Maillard Reaction: The Maillard reaction, a chemical reaction between amino acids and reducing sugars, occurs more slowly at lower temperatures. Slow cooking allows the Maillard reaction to take place gradually, resulting in complex flavors, aromas, and the development of rich brown crusts on meats.

Flavor Infusion: Low and slow cooking allows flavors from herbs, spices, and other ingredients to meld together gradually, resulting in deep, complex flavor profiles. This slow infusion of flavors creates dishes with layers of taste that evolve over time.

Moisture Retention: Cooking at lower temperatures helps retain moisture in meats and vegetables, preventing them from drying out and resulting in juicy, succulent dishes.

Each dish at my supper club is my canvas. The spices are my palette.

Whole spices heart & soul of my culinary creations

A few key ingredients that will feature at my inaugural Supper Club this Saturday.

Coconut Milk, Curry Leaves & Tamarind Extract

Coconut Milk: Has a sweet, tropical flavor with a subtle nuttiness. It adds a creamy richness to dishes without overpowering other flavors, making it a versatile ingredient in both savory and sweet recipes. Coconut milk is rich in healthy fats, vitamins, and minerals, including manganese, copper, and selenium

Tamarind (Imli): Boasts a unique flavor profile characterized by its distinct sweet and sour taste. It offers a tangy acidity that provides depth and complexity to dishes. Alongside its tartness, tamarind also carries subtle hints of sweetness, contributing to a well-rounded flavor experience. This versatile ingredient adds a fruity aroma and imparts a deep reddish-brown color to dishes. The balance between its sourness and sweetness

Curry Leaves (Kadi Patta): a quintessential herb in Indian cuisine, prized for its distinctive flavor and aromatic qualities. These glossy, dark green leaves boast a unique citrusy, nutty, and slightly bitter taste, with fragrant notes that evoke the essence of curry powder. They are also valued for their potential health benefits and are believed to aid digestion and promote overall well-being.

For spices I use and making of Pandi Curry click here

Pandi Curry!

At most restaurants, the waiter drops off the food at the table, with one short cursory sentence about the food you’re about to eat. I wanted to create a more intimate experience, where I, as the chef, could tell stories around each course of my food. After all, each dish was inspired by a country I had visited in a previous lifetime.

I also wanted to pair each course with an exquisite sake that complements the dish.

I wanted to build community.

After sitting on the concept for years, I launch my first supper club at a secret location in Manhattan this Saturday. I’ve been practicing my stories!

2 spots remain. Register here.

What I’m Eating

Ghee Rice & Chicken Kabab - My take on Chicken Kabab & Ghee Rice, featured at Bangalore’s Empire & Imperial hotels

What I’m Hearing

Anxmus Jukebox 2.0 - Contemporary music from East Nepal. Melodious!

What I’m cooking

SAMPURN - Gearing up for my Inaugural Supper Club April 20th

What I’m Watching

Midsomer Murders- UK’s longest running contemporary detective drama

Be sure to follow me on Instagram @swaadbynitin

Nitin

Reply

or to participate.